top of page
  • Writer's pictureStacey Dessmann

Get to know Stacey from Stacey and Zeke

Updated: Dec 4, 2022


Welcome to my blog, read on to find out a little about me and how I developed a love of writing...


I'm a born and raised Sale girl. Sometimes shy and sometimes full of cheeky sass. A little bit punk rocker, a little bit emo, a love for all things pink, and of course Staffy obsessed. With a passion for cooking, eating, gardening and writing. I'm fiercely independent and like to do things my own way, being completely unique and different from the rest. Perhaps one could even say a slight perfectionist, believing it's not done properly unless I've done it myself.


Writing has always been a passion of mine. Whether it was the weekly diary entry in primary school, making up my own fairytales on my type writer, poetry or songs, I found enjoyment and comfort in expressing my words. Being able to express emotions and creativity via written word is a wonderfull gift. Bringing people together, finding common ground and connecting over a feeling given by words on paper, or these days a screen, is truely magical.


I guess my love of writing came from my love of reading. The two just go hand in hand, like a romantic duo. I've been an avid reader from an early age, my love of books stemmed from my Mum and my Nanna, they read daily, and read to me, as well as spoiling me with an abundance of books. Both having a taste for authors such as Bryce Courtney, Steven King, and James Patterson. Myself on the other hand have acquired a completely different taste in books.


My childhood consisted of Disney books, Golden books, and of course Beatrix Potter. Later in my childhood it was the much sort after Goosebumps series. Then along came my early teenage years, from age 11 onwards it was all about Surf novels, thanks to 1999's Surfs Up by Dianna Chase, and 2001's Last Wave by Paul Hayden. I was hooked on Surf novels, and they are still a favourite today. Theres just something about surfing that reels me in. Mind you I've never set foot on a Surf Board. A bucket list item I hope to one day complete.


My late teens and Early 20's paved way for the traveling pants series, and Rockstar autobiographies. Thanks to Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis and of course anything Ozzy Osbourne related. (I love picking up a random book, or an autobiography by a musician and within the first chapter or at some stage in the book they're praising Ozzy or saying how much he influenced their style and taste) An incredible talent, who is very much respected and idolised by not only his fans but his peers as well. Of course I had to include him.


Now in my mid 30's, (wow did I just write that for the whole world to see?) my taste in books hasn't changed all that much. I'm currently reading The Twisted Tales series by Disney and co authors, reliving my childhood and getting lost in darker fairytales. My love for Rockstar autobiographies is still going strong, with my bookshelves having books piled high.


I spend my free time reading at the beach, captivated by the words dancing on the pages in front of me, completely relaxed by the tranquil waves crashing ashore, toes in the warm sunkissed sand and of course a homemade snack nearby. A dream dancing in my head of one day becoming a full time blogger. Writing reviews and traveling tales.


Until then I delight in being a mini Instagram Influencer writing product reviews with Aussie businesses, and plan on reviewing the books I adore ever so much, along with weekly movie reviews. So if you enjoy a good read, have a love of books, movies, or want to read about new products, travel destinations, restaurants and attractions, then be sure to follow along on my adventures.


This small blog is dedicated to my Nanna who passed away in December 2021. I love you Nan.


Thank you for reading xoxo







bottom of page