top of page
  • Writer's pictureStacey Dessmann

Bra Boy by Richie 'Vas' Vaculik

Updated: Feb 16, 2019


Bra Boy by Richie 'Vas' Vaculik

Growing up less than an hour from the famous 90 Mile Beach, I've always had a love for surfing. Mind you I've never stepped foot on a board in the water, (despite having vivid dreams I'm surfing waves with big name surfers) but it is on my bucket list. Not being a surfer has never stopped me for having a love for the sport, or continuing to immerse myself in surf culture. I was 11 when I picked up my first surfing novel, and I haven't stopped since.


Maroubra Beach, situated on the Eastern suburbs of Sydney, is home to Richie 'Vas' Vaculik. Big wave surfer, Larrikin, Bra Boy, and MMA fighter. Surfing, like it is to many young kids in Maroubra, was a big part of Richies life. Skipping school on many occasions to instead surf with his buddies. Then Richie become a Bra Boy, and a whole world of mischief an opportunities arose. Surfing and traveling the world, and making life long friends. Getting into bar fights, chatting up the love of his life, completing an apprenticeship in carpet laying, and succeeding at becoming a professional MMA fighter.


From the sun and surf in Maroubra, to worldwide arenas. Running nude and surfing big waves with a blow up crocodile in tribute to the late Steve Irwin, this book has it all. Follow Bra Boy Richie Vas on his journey from local big wave surfer to MMA fighter. You'll laugh, you may even cry, but I guarantee at the end you will want to pick up a surf board and wish you were a Bra Boy too. Strength, courage, and a fantastic sense of humour, Richie Vas is a true Aussie fighter.


Richies book is available at all good bookstores.







25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page