top of page
  • Writer's pictureStacey Dessmann

The Super Mario Bros. Movie 2023 1hr 32m


When I first heard about this movie coming out I thought "oh no" they're messing with a classic, this isn't going to be good. When I watched the trailer I had mixed thoughts about it, first off Mario's voice just wasn't right, and all of the lands just looked very modern and what I like to call "new Mario". I'm not a huge gamer, but I'm a huge fan of NES and SNES, as well as GameBoy. I grew up playing all of the original games, so of course it took me a while to get use to the new movie graphics, as I've never updated my Nintendo consoles past SNES or GameBoy Advance. I play the old way.


I went in with an open mind, and let's just say my mind was blown. The Super Mario Bros, Movie was jam packed with nostalgia. I felt like a kid again. The sounds were just like my beloved games, and I ended up loving the graphics. Jack Black as the voice for Bowser was absolutely perfect. Jack's voice added the right amount of comedy for our bad guy teamed with a broody grump. There were so many quirky tributes to the games and laugh out loud moments. Even Marios Voice, done by Chris Pratt, grew on me.


With all of your favourite characters coming together, for one big adventure through the worlds, including Princess peach, and Donkey Kong, to defeat bowser and save Louigi, The Super Mario Bros. movie is well worth the watch. A movie that had an entire cinema full of kids and adults completely captivated, this is a trip back to your childhood you won't want to miss.


I give it 5 stars


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page